HomeAbout UsGrantsFormsNewsroomHelpContact Us
Search NIFA
Advanced Search
Browse by Subject
Agricultural Systems
Animals & Animal Products
Biotechnology & Genomics
Economics & Commerce
Environment & Natural Resources
Families, Youth & Communities
Food, Nutrition & Health
Pest Management
Plants & Plant Products
Technology & Engineering


USDA Appoints 11 New Members of Forestry Research Council

Alisa Harrison (202) 720-4623
Marti Asner (202) 720-8188

Printable version

WASHINGTON, June 10, 2004Agriculture Secretary Ann M. Veneman today announced the renewal of the Forestry Research Advisory Council (FRAC) for another 2 years and the appointment of 11 new members, bringing the total to 20. FRAC provides advice to the Secretary on USDA forestry research programs.

“This council serves an important role reporting on forestry research within federal and state agencies, forestry schools, and forestry industries,” said Veneman. “Now that FRAC has a full complement of highly qualified members, I look forward to its first meeting this August so we can continue to tackle important issues that lie ahead.”

“Our newest members represent a broad range of groups concerned with forestry research,” said Joseph J. Jen, USDA Undersecretary for Research, Education, and Economics. “Our strength is in our diversity of backgrounds and expertise, and I look forward to reviewing recommendations generated by FRAC."

FRAC is chaired by Greg Johnson, director of research at Weyerhauser Corporation in Albany, Oregon.

Nominations for new members were reviewed by both the Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service (CSREES) and the Forest Service (FS). The new members and their affiliations are as follows:

  • From Federal and State Agencies:
    • Charles T. Smith, Jr., Head, Department of Forest Science, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas
    • Steve Brink, Deputy Regional Forester, U.S. Forest Service, Juneau, Alaska
    • Theodore Wegner, Assistant Director, Forest Products Laboratory, U.S. Forest Service, Madison, Wis
  • From the Forest Industry:
    • James Rakestraw, Forest Manager, International Paper Co., Savannah, Ga.
    • Alan Lucier, Senior Vice President, National Council of the Paper Industry for Air and Stream Improvement Inc., Research Triangle Park, N.C.
  • From the Forestry Schools and State Agricultural Experiment Stations:
    • David Reed, Vice President for Research, Michigan Tech University, Houghton, Mich.
    • Claire Williams, Professor, Forestry Genetics, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas
    • Richard Brinker, Dean, School of Forestry, Auburn University, Auburn, Ala.
  • From Volunteer Public Groups:
    • Malcolm Guidry, Consulting Arborist, self-employed, Covington, La.
    • John M. Hagan, Senior Scientist and Director, Manomet Center for Conservation Sciences, Brunswick, Maine
    • Jeb Barzen, Director of Field Ecology, International Crane Foundation, Baraboo, Wisc.

Upcoming meetings will appear in the Federal Register and on the CSREES and FS websites. For more information please contact Catalino Blanche, CSREES National Program Leader, at cblanche@csrees.usda.gov.