HomeAbout UsGrantsFormsNewsroomHelpContact Us
Search NIFA
Advanced Search
Browse by Subject
Agricultural Systems
Animals & Animal Products
Biotechnology & Genomics
Economics & Commerce
Education
Environment & Natural Resources
Families, Youth & Communities
Food, Nutrition & Health
International
Pest Management
Plants & Plant Products
Technology & Engineering
Financial Security

Cooperative Extension Youth Financial Education

What Is Cooperative Extension?

Cooperative Extension is a nationwide educational network that brings research and knowledge of land-grant institutions to people in their homes, workplaces, and communities. Extension links the resources and expertise of more than 3,000 county extension offices, 105 land-grant colleges and universities (which include historically black colleges, tribal colleges, and institutions serving the U.S. territories), and the federal government through USDA’s National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA).  The following are examples of efforts underway:

State

Program Description(s)

Contact Person

Alabama

LifeSmarts

Biz World; Piggy Bank Pageant; National Endowment for Financial Education( NEFE®)  High School Financial Planning Program (HSFPP®)
Reality Check

Calhoun County Saves

Bernice Wilson
bbwilson@aces.edu

Lisa Wissert
wisselc@aces.edu

Ruth Brock
brockru@auburn.edu

Isaac Chappell
ichappel@aces.edu

Alaska

NEFE® HSFPP®

Roxie Dinstel
fnrrd@uaf.edu

Arizona

Duel in Desert;  Small Steps to Health and Wealth

Jump$tart Financial Expo for Teachers

Melinda Burke
mburke@Ag.arizona.edu

Nicole Chinadle
nchinadle@Ag.arizona.edu

Arkansas

Ready, Set, Graduate; Get Real – Here’s the Deal; Money on the Bookshelf and Money on the Bookshelf for Early Childhood Educators; The College Student Budget; Shifting Financial; Consumer Judging; (NEFE®) (HSFPP®); Arkansas Jump$tart Coalition; 4-H projects including Consumer Savvy and Financial Champions; Kids and Cash; Money Sense for Kids; The Cash Kids; Calculating Consumer.

Laura Connerly
lconnerly@uaex.edu

Colorado

NEFE High School Financial Planning Program training; "Teaching Your Children Money Habits For Life" sessions;  "Spend Some, Share Some, Save Some" classes for older youth; and 4-H projects: Consumer Savvy and Financial Champions

Nancy Porter
nancy.porter@colostate.edu

Connecticut

Welcome to the Real World, Financial Literacy Teacher Training, Parents, Kids and Money Training Connecticut Jump $tart Coalition

Faye Griffiths-Smith
faye.griffiths-smith@uconn.edu

California

Money Talks for Teens Series
Interactive website moneytalks4teens.org, colorful teen guides, easy-to-follow leader’s guides, videos, and games all designed to appeal to teens. Materials available in English and Spanish. NEFE High School Financial Planning Program

Karen Varcoe
Karen.varcoe@ucr.edu

Delaware

Here’s what we’re doing in Delaware: NEFE®  High School Financial Planning Program®: 4-H Financial Champions and Consumer Savvy project books: Consumer Champions Bowl at State Fair: Mini Society at After School site locations: Money Smarts training for educators; Training for teachers; First State Saves for Youth; Jump Start Coalition.

Maria Pippidis 
Pippidis@udel.edu.

District of Columbia

Money Saving Wednesdays; Basic Financial Planning.

Rodney Gill
rgill@udc.edu

Florida

4-H Money Camps and after-school programs; Money Wise; 4-H Financial Champions; 4-H On Your Own:  Challenge for Living; NEFE® HSFPP®; Specialty Events & Competitions (Consumer Choices, Consumer Ed Demos, On Your Own:  Challenge for Living Skill-a-thons & Life Smarts Competition; & Mall Madness);  Young Investor Program.

Joy Cantrell Jordan
jcj@ufl.edu

Michael Gutter    
msgutter@ufl.edu

Audrey Norman
anorman@pbcgov.org

Georgia

4-H Consumer Judging and Cotton Bowl competitions; Financial Literacy Teacher Training; Statewide Financial Literacy Initiative; Georgia Youth Saves; 4-H Demonstration Projects.

Michael Rupured
mrupured@uga.edu

Hawaii

Peer Education for Financial Literacy; MoneyEd.

Wayne Nishijima
w@ctahr.hawaii.edu

Idaho

NEFE® HSFPP®; Kids Kredit Card; Money on the Bookshelf; So You Want to Move Out?!; Welcome to the Real World; Fun With Money Afterschool Program; and 4-H Youth Financial Literacy Camps.

Lyle Hansen
lhansen@uidaho.edu 

Marilyn Bischoff
mbischof@uidaho.edu

Illinois

NEFE, HSFPP, Welcome to the Real World

Kathy Sweedler sweedler@illinois.edu

Iowa

NEFE® HSFPP®

Mary Beth Kaufam     
mbkaufma@iastate.edu

Kansas

NEFE® HSFPP®; Welcome to the Real World

Carol Young 
cyoung@oznet.ksu.edu

Kentucky

NEFE® HSFPP®

Robert Flashman    
rflasma@uky.edu

Louisiana

NEFE® HSFPP®; Free Enterprise Program; 4-H Financial Management/Consumer Decision Making program; Welcome to the Real World; Newspapers in Education; Youth Financial Educators' Summit; Money on the Bookshelf; Jump$tart Your Money Week.

Jeanette Tucker
jtucker@agctr.lsu.edu

Maine

National Endowment for Financial Education( NEFE®)  High School Financial Planning Program (HSFPP®). 4-H Financial Champions Money Fun-damentals, Mini Society.

Debra Kantor
dkantor@umext.maine.edu

Maryland

Reading Makes Cents:: NEFE HSFPP®; 4-H Financial Champions workbooks; and eXtension.org  Youth Financial Literacy:  4-H Teen Focus, Maryland Day, 4-H Volunteer Forum, a partnership with Drug Court, and community workshops across the state.

Crystal Terhune  
crytal@umd.edu

Kathy Gordon
kgordon1@umd.edu

Michigan

4-H Future Millionaire's Club Programming; 4-H Future Entrepreneurs Club Programming; 4-H Be the E (Entrepreneurship); 4-H Financial Champions; 4H Consumer Savvy; Mini-Society®; Michigan Money Smart Week; Michigan Jump$tart Coalition (and Teacher Training Conferences); NEFE® HSFPP®, Thrive by Five, The Money Game Simulation, and 4-H Exploration Days financial management sessions.

Erica Tobe
tobee@msu.edu

Minnesota

NEFE® HSFPP®; Financial Champions; Consumer Savvy: Money on the Bookshelf; Consumer Decisions Contest; Using Children’s Literature to Teach Economics; Thrive by Five; MN Jump$tart Coalition; Managing College Life: Your Money, Your Housing, Your Future; Financial Literacy: What’s New in Credit & Debt.

Lori Hendrickson          
lhend@umn.edu  

Sara Croymans                     
croym001@umn.edu

Mississippi

Money Matters; Seminar for Youth and Teachers; Money on your Bookshelf; and Jumpstart Poster and Essay Contest

Bobbie Shaffett                     BShaffett@humansci.msstate.edu

Missouri

NEFE® HSFPP®

Andrew Zumwalt
ZumwaltA@missouri.edu 

Montana

Money on the Bookshelf; Financial Champions; Family Financial Literacy Project; NEFE®; HSFPP®; Teach Children to Save; Montana Financial Education Coalition Collaborations with Montana Credit Unions for Community Development and First Interstate BancSystem Foundation.

Marsha Goetting
goetting@montana.edu,  

Nebraska

NEFE® HSFPP®; Welcome to the Real World:; 4-H Financial Champions:  4-H Money Camps: Preventing The Credit Card Blues @ 22; 4-H ESI: Entrepreneurship; 4-H Shopping In Style & Attention Shoppers!; 4-H Making Cents of It.

Leanne Manning
Lmanning1@unl.edu  

Nevada

Money Sense for Your Children newsletter series; Money on the Bookshelf; NEFE® HSFPP®.

Jeanne Hilton
hilton@unr.edu

New Hampshire

Let’s Talk About Money; NEFE® HSFPP®.

Suzann Knight
Suzann.knight@unh.edu

New Jersey

What Young Adults Need to Know About Money; Real Money; Money $mart Week Piggy Bank Pageant and Poster Contest; Teacher Training Workshops, NEFE® HSFPP® training; NJ Financial Education Idol contest; PowerPoint games.

Barbara O’Neill
oneill@aesop.rutgers.edu

New Mexico

Money on the Bookshelf; NEFE® HSFPP®; 4-H Consumer Judging; New Mexico Jumpstart Coalition 

Fahzy Abdul-Rahman  
Fahzy@nmsu.edu

New York

NEFE® HSFPP®

Barbara M. Henza
bmh13@cornell.edu

North Carolina

NEFE®  HSFPP®  Living Independently Through Financial Education (LIFE); Personal Finance Assessment System (PFAS): Online personal finance and competency certification system designed to reach aged 18 to 24 military personnel.

Carolyn Bird          
Carolyn_bird@ncsu.edu

North Dakota

NEFE® HSFPP®; North Dakota Jump$tart Coalition; 4-H Consumer Choices consumer judging; Financial Champions; Consumer Savvy: 4-H Consumer Choices Judging program; Personal Finance eXtension.

Debb Pankow
dpankow@ndsuext.nodak.edu
Debra.Pankow@ndsu.edu

 

Ohio

“Real Money, Real World”; NEFE® HSFPP®; Money Management 4-H projects, judging events, and after-school programs; Ohio Commission for Personal Finance Education; KnowHow2Go; “Financial Literacy Resources” presentations. 

Nancy Recker
recker.22@osu.edu

Betsy DeMatteo
dematteo.15@osu.edu

Oregon

NEFE® HSFPP®

Debra Driscoll
Debra.driscoll@oregonstate.edu

Pennsylvania

Financial Champions; Kids and Kash; Reading Makes Cents: A 4-H After School Financial Literacy Curriculum Pilot; NEFE® HSFPP®; 

Cathy Bowen
cbowen@psu.edu

Robert Thee
rthee@psu.edu

South Carolina

NEFE® HSFPP®; South Carolina Mini-Society Program; Financial Champions; Consumer Savvy; Junior Achievement programs; Jum$tart Coalition for Financial Literacy.

Nancy Porter
nporter@clemson.edu

South Dakota

NEFE® HSFPP® ; Financial Champions; Money on the Bookshelf; Consumer Savvy; 4-H Consumer Judging Competition; Thrive by Five Pre-school Financial Literacy; FDIC Money Smart curriculum; Weaving Your Future: Personal Finance for Native Americans; Junior Achievement programs; Jump$tart Coalition for Financial Literacy Save Wisely Spend Smart (SD Series of 4 lessons with 1 or more personal coaching sessions).

Elizabeth Gorham
elizabeth.gorham@sdstate.edu

Tennessee

NEFE® HSFPP; 4-H Consumer Decision Making program, 4-H Consumer Economics project, LifeSmarts, LifeSkills, Tennessee Saves, On My Own simulation, Reality Check, Money Crunch, Ready to Work, Thrive by Five, Financial Fitness for Life, 4-H Millionaires Club, Money on the Bookshelf, Spend,  Save & Share Banks, Tennessee Saves Week piggy bank pageants, Tennessee Saves Legislative Day, TN Jump$tart Coalition, Jump$tart Teachers Conference.

Ann Berry                            
aaberry@utk.edu

Texas

Financial Champions; Consumer Critter Crew; 4-H Consumer Life Skills; Consumer Savvy.

4-H Consumer Decision Making Contest; NEFE® HSFPP®.

Joyce Cavanagh
jacavanagh@ag.tamu.edu

Nancy Granovsky
n-granovsky@tamu.edu

Virginia

Camp Millionaire, NEFE® High School Financial, Program; Reality Store: Financial Champions; Survivor Management; Virginia Jump$tart; Virginia LifeSmarts; Money on the Bookshelf, eXtension (pronounced ee-exxtension).

Celia Hayhoe
chayoe@vt.edu 

Washington

NEFE® High School Financial Planning Program teacher training; Money 2020 Washington State University Extension website.
Don’t Buy It; Media Smarts

Chris Koehler
koehler@wsu.edu

J. Klein
jlklein@wsu.edu

West Virginia

Jump$tart Coalition; NEFE® HSFPP®; Bank at School.

Mary Ellen Conn
MaryEllen.Conn@Mail.wvu.edu

Wisconsin

FDIC Money Smart, CUNA Thrive by Five, University of Nevada Extension Money on the Bookshelf, 4-H Financial Champions, 4-H Consumer Saavy, University of Idaho Extension Dollar Decisions, NEFE® HSFPP®, University of Nebraska Extension Prevent Credit Card Blues at 22.

Ruth N. Schriefer
Ruth.schriefer@ces.uwex.edu

Michael Collins   
jmcollins@wisc.edu

Peggy Olive 
peggy.olive@ces.uwex.edu     

Wyoming

NEFE® HSFPP®; Wyoming Saves; Wyoming Jump$tart Coalition; ABCs of Credit Card Finance; eXtension.org; Who Wants to Be a Millionaire?; Breaking Even with your 4-H Project; FDIC Money Smart curriculum; Leaving a Lasting Legacy.

Cole C.  Ehmke
cehmke@uwyo.edu 

For more information, contact Jane Schuchardt (jschuchardt@NIFA.usda.gov), Consultant, Family and Consumer Economics, National Institute of Food and Agriculture, USDA. Prepared by Cameron Briggs (cbriggs@nifa.usda.gov), Program Specialist, May 10, 2010.

Back to Financial Security Home Page