Skip to Main Content
HomeAbout UsGrantsFormsNewsroomHelpContact Us
Search NIFA
Advanced Search
Browse by Subject
Agricultural Systems
Animals & Animal Products
Biotechnology & Genomics
Economics & Commerce
Environment & Natural Resources
Families, Youth & Communities
Food, Nutrition & Health
Pest Management
Plants & Plant Products
Technology & Engineering
Sustainable Agriculture

NIFA Green Team

At NIFA, a Green Team is working to advance recycling, reduce the use of paper through double-sided printing and copying, promote green electronics stewardship, and encourage energy conservation. Formed from the Science for Sustainability Working Group and encouraged by USDA's Sustainable Operations Council, the Green Team is a group of employees working on pragmatic implementation of sustainable operations principles in their units.

The team is also exploring the issue of carbon offsets for travel and other measures that may be incorporated into future agreements for the leased office space occupied by NIFA. Some of these solutions might include improvements in building energy efficiency, use of green cleaning products, and more advanced recycling.

The Green Team supports Federal Executive Order 13423, which directs federal agencies to conduct their environmental, transportation and energy-related activities "in an environmentally, economically, and fiscally sound, integrated, continuously improving, efficient, and sustainable manner." The order defines sustainable as "to create and maintain conditions under which humans and nature can exist in productive harmony, that permit fulfilling the social, economic and other requirements of present and future generations of Americans." USDA's Sustainable Operations Council provides leadership to USDA's implementation E.O. 13423, and maintains a Sustainable Operations Web site with information about activities such as energy management, recycling and waste reduction, green purchasing, electronics stewardship, and much more.

NIFA Green Team members include:

  • Jill Auburn , ECS
  • Anne Henderson, Communications
  • Dennis Kopp, OA
  • Patricia McAleer, ECS
  • Eric Norland , NRE
  • Alexandra Raver, CP
  • Daniel Schmoldt , PAS
  • Debra Williams, ISTM
  • Joe Wysocki, PAS

Back to Sustainable Agriculture Home Page